h1

I hope you dance…

September 27, 2009

Sometimes, one can not but wonder, what is the essence of life?

We get so involved with being on the run twenty four hours a day, we have no time to have meaningful conversations with friends and family, because most of the time we have to be at work and we only get to talk about things related to work. we are afflicted by the tyranny of the urgent?

Is that all there is to life? are we just living or existing? are we living just to work? no wonder its also called “the rat-race!”

Methinks we need some more time to ponder on life itself and appreciate the small mercies that the Almighty daily loads us with.

We need to watch the sun rise…
… enjoy the sunset,…
… feel the caress of the morning sun on our skins…

… get on the floor and play with that kid, instead of yelling at him to get up…

… stop a while, and have a good laugh…

when was the last time we walked in the rain?
when did we last enjoy the solititude of a quiet moment in the cool of the day, withour the shrill ringing of our numerous phones, the din of our televisions and all the other noises associated with our lives?
when last did we enjoy watching a smile form on the face of a fellow man?
when was the last time we retreated into that still place we all have in our minds?

methinks we need to find delight in life itself like little babies who have no care in the world, we need to smile more, hurry less and pause sometimes and appreciate all the things around us.

we need to take time to make our lives fuller and our experiences richer. this song by “I hope you dance” by Lee Ann Womack captured this succinctly and since listening to it three days ago, i have been held spellbound.

Enjoy!!!!

I Hope you Dance!

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder,
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger,
May you never take one single breath for granted,
God forbid love ever leave you empty handed,
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

I hope you dance….I hope you dance.

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance,
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Living might mean taken chances but they’re worth taking,
Loving might be a mistake but it’s worth making,
Don’t let some hell bent heart leave you bitter,
When you come close to selling out reconsider,
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

I hope you dance….I hope you dance.
I hope you dance….I hope you dance.
(time is a wheel in constant motion always rolling us along,
Tell me who wants to look back on their years and wonder where those years have gone.)

I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

Dance….I hope you dance.
I hope you dance….I hope you dance.
I hope you dance….I hope you dance…
(time is a wheel in constant motion always rolling us along
Tell me who wants to look back on their years and wonder where those years have gone

4 comments

  1. Wow! Lovely, lovely song!

    “Never settle for the path of least resistance….don’t let some hell bent heart leave you bitter…”

    I love those lines. And I hope I remember them always.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!


  2. Thanks Enkay,
    you have the honour to be the very first to stop by my blog. i really appreciate it.


  3. Thanks so much for this reminder! I absolutely love this song too! Thank you very much.


    • @Bomi, thanks for stopping by



Leave a Reply

